Fontaine des Quatre Dauphins or Fountain of the Four Dolphins is the central highlight of the Place des Quatre Dauphins in the heart of the Mazarin district. It is surrounded by houses, which, at the northeast corner, the hotel Boisgelin, built in 1655 by Pierre Pavillon (1612 to 1670).
Fontaine des Quatre Dauphins or Fountain of the Four Dolphins is the central highlight of the Place des Quatre Dauphins in the heart of the Mazarin district. It is surrounded by houses, which, at the northeast corner, the hotel Boisgelin, built in 1655 by Pierre Pavillon (1612 to 1670). The Baroque fountain carved in 1667 by Jean-Claude Rambot has 4 dolphins at the base of an obelisk which is topped by a pine cone.
Place des 4 Dauphins, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
+33 4 42 16 11 61
Cours Mirabeau is a major boulevard in Aix-en-Provence lined with double rows of plane-trees that form a natural canopy over the road, running from Fontaine de la Rotonde to Place Forbin
Passage Agard, which links Cours Mirabeau to Place de Verdun, is a narrow corridor lined with small shops and restaurants
The Palais de Justice (Law Courts) is the second most important Appeals Court in France after the one in Paris
The Caumont Centre d'Art is a new art gallery housed in an elegant 18th century house with tastefully furnished period rooms, rococo tea rooms and well-manicured classic French gardens
Place d'Albertas is a beautiful square surrounded by mansions of the d'Albertas with a fountain in the centre
The Corn Exchange, built in 1754 on the Place de l'Hôtel-de-Ville to designs by the Vallons, was once a granary but today houses the post office and public library
Place de l'Hotel-de-Ville is the main square at the heart of Aix-en-Provence, surrounded by beautiful historical buildings such as the Town Hall, Belfry, and Corn Exchange
To the north of Cours Mirabeau lies the historic and charming Vieil-Aix or Old Town, with narrow streets lined with shops and restaurants, and colorful weekend markets
The Hotel de Ville (Town Hall) on Place de l'Hotel de Ville in the Old Town is a striking building in Italian style, built between 1655 and 1678 to plans by architect Pierre Pavillon, with sculptures by Jean -Claude Rambot and Jacques Fossé
The Archbishop's Palace was once the residence of the archbishop of Aix, but today houses the Musee des Tapisseries (Tapestry Museum) on the 1st floor, displaying 17th and 18th century tapestries