Loading

Palau Dalmases, Barcelona

Palau Dalmases on the historic Carrer Montcada is named after aristocrat Pau Ignasi de Dalmases, who remodeled the entire house in the 17th century.

Palau Dalmases on the historic Carrer Montcada is named after aristocrat Pau Ignasi de Dalmases, who remodeled the entire house in the 17th century. The Catalan building has a Gothic façade in Montjuïc stone with a richly decorated portal, and large zoomorphic gargoyles protruding from the roof. The interiors have a ground floor attic, main floor, another floor and an attic, all around a Baroque central courtyard, surrounded by large arches on Tuscan columns. The stairway has Solomonic columns and a railing with carved stone reliefs depicting the Rape of Europa and the Triumph of Neptune.

It is home to the Espai Baroque, a cozy space with antique furniture and décor where visitors can enjoy a traditional flamenco show with cajón and flamenco guitar.


Hours

Sun

11:30

1:30

Mon

11:30

1:30

Tue

11:30

1:30

Wed

11:30

1:30

Thu

11:30

1:30

Fri

11:30

1:30

Sat

11:30

1:30

About Palau Dalmases

 Carrer de Montcada, 20, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

 +34 933 10 06 73

 palaudalmases.com

Palau Dalmases and Nearby Sights on Map

Sant Pere de les Puelles

The Sant Pere de les Puelles is a 10th century Romanesque Benedictine monastery that has been damaged and rebuilt over the years

Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar

One of the most representative examples of Catalan Gothic architecture, it features a sombre but beautiful interior

Picasso Museum

The Museu Picasso in Barcelona was inaugurated in 1963 as the first museum dedicated to the works of Pablo Picasso, and houses an extensive collection of 4,251 works of art by the artist

Fossar de les Moreres

The Fossar de les Moreres is the site of the cemetery of the Santa Maria del Mar Church where martyrs of the Siege of Barcelona in 1714 were buried

Passeig del Born

This avenue goes from the Santa Maria del Mar church to the Born market and is where the legendary jousting matches of the Middle Ages took place, as well as numerous fairs and marches

La Ribera

Museo del Mamut

The Mammoth Museum in the Casa de la Custòdia is a paleontological museum showcasing the remains of mammoths and other Ice Age animals

Mercat del Born

This market was the central market for Barcelona until the 1973 and its closing marked the beginning of the neighborhood's decline before its current resurgence

Museu de la Xocolata

The Museu de la Xocolata is dedicated to chocolate, taking visitors through the discovery of cocoa bean in the Aztec Empire by New World explorers, its arrival in Europe, processing and commercialization, and its nutritional properties

Centre Cívic Convent de Sant Agustí

The Old Convent of St Augustine dates back to 1349, and served as the headquarters of the Bakers' Guild of Barcelona for several years