Showing 1 to 7 of 7 Offers
... narrowest house and its widest bridge. Then, pass the Anne Frank House, the stroll by Begijnhof Convent, and much more.
11 hours 30 minutes
...ce shops of Bruges on your own. See the Begijnhof, the city gates and the eye-catching windmills. And indulge in some de...
Offered by Viator
... House, the Dutch East Indies HQ, Dam Square, and more. Explore the UNESCO World Heritage Canal Belt, and the Begijnhof.
Head out from Amsterdam on a full-day excursion to the picturesque city of Bruges. Enjoy a guided canal cruise and see t...
...l paths of a city once considered the center of the world. Marvel at monuments such as the Begijnhof courtyard and more.
...eboats and bridges of the Canal Belt, and see landmark sites, such as the Royal Palace, Begijnhof, and Anne Frank House.
The Begijnhof is one of the oldest inner courts in Amsterdam that formerly housed Catholic Beguines and is now a home for needy women.
The Begijnhof is one of the oldest inner courts in Amsterdam that formerly housed Catholic Beguines and is now a home for needy women. Dating back to the early 14th century, it is an oasis of tranquility with quaint historic buildings in the heart of Amsterdam enclosed by the Singel canal. Het Houten Huis, the house at no. 34, is the oldest wooden-front house in Amsterdam and one of only 2 of its kind in the city, as wooden houses were banned in the 16th century after a series of fires. In the centre of the courtyard stands the Engelse Kerk or English Reformed Church, with pulpit panels designed by Mondrian.
Beguines were pious catholic single women who performed good work but did not want to live in a convent, and therefore did not take their vows. Earliest records referencing a ‘beguine house’ date to 1346, and mentions of the Begijnhof for the first time date to 1389. Until about 1400, the Begijnhof covered the part now fenced off by the church, bordered at the south by what is now the de Begijnensteeg (Beguines alley). However in the early years of the 15th century, the courtyard was expanded by filling the adjoining marsh with rubbish, dirt and sand to form solid ground extending up to the canal ‘Spui’ (now filled up). The wooden houses of the Begijnhof were totally gutted in the great fires of 1421 and 1452, which destroyed large parts of Amsterdam. Only the Houten Huis survived, which was restored in 1956-57. The present day courtyard dates mostly from the 17th and 18th centuries.
From 1578 to 1795, Amsterdam was Protestant, with Roman Catholics banned from openly practising their religion. Most possessions of the Roman Catholic Church were confiscated, but the beguines were left in peace. The houses were considered their personal property and thus the courtyard was a Roman Catholic enclave in a predominantly protestant Amsterdam for more than 200 years. In 1607 the Gothic courtyard church (consecrated in 1419) was given by the city council to the English Protestant community, following which the beguines had to make do with various hidden house churches. Cornelia Arents, mistress of the Begijnhof, who passed away on 2 May 1654, did not want to be buried in the Engelse Kerk or English Church. Out of penitence for some of her relatives turning Protestant, she requested a grave in the pathway to the church. Every year on her death anniversary, flowers are placed here.
In 1671 an ‘official’ house church was opened in two connected houses (no 31) and was simply called ‘the chapel’. The chapel at the Beguinage has 9 panels by Schenk illustrating the ‘Miracle of Amsterdam’. As per legend, a rich man in Kalverstraat was sick, and vomited the Sacrament that was given to him. The holy Host had to be disposed by burning, but it supernaturally levitated above the flames and was recovered for preservation in the Nieuwezijds Kapel. The Host was lost to water when Amsterdam turned Protestant and Catholic churches were thrown into neglect, but the Nieuwezijds Kapel and the Heiligeweg leading to it from Kalverstraat are important religious sites today.
A major restoration of the Beguinage was carried out in the 1980s as the houses were in bad shape. When it was completed in 1987, princess Juliana handed over the courtyard to the Begijnhof Foundation which rents out the homes to 93 Dutch women.
Begijnhof 30, Amsterdam, Netherlands
+31 20 622 1918
The Spui Square in Amsterdam hosts a weekly outdoor art market on Sundays, where a group of about 25 contemporary Dutch and foreign artists from SAIA’s (Stichting Amsterdam International Artists) pool of 60 display their works
The Amsterdam Museum, previously known as the Amsterdams Historisch Museum, traces the history and evolution of the city, from its origins as a settlement on the Amstel river banks to the bustling commercial city it is today
The Civil Guards Gallery or Schuttersgalerij houses portraits of 17th-century Dutch aristocrats
The Braggiotti Gallery on the Singel Canal has 4 rooms showcasing Dutch and international contemporary glass art
The Allard Pierson Museum, run by the University of Amsterdam, houses a Mediterranean archaeological collection of antiquities, art and artifacts from 4000 BC to 500 AD, including exhibits from ancient Egypt, the Near East, ancient Greece and Mesopotamia, Etruria, and the Roman Empire
The Torture Museum is certainly offbeat, with exhibits showcasing the history of different torturous techniques used over the centuries
The Bloemenmarkt is the world's only floating flower market, with florists and garden shops set up on moored barges on the Singel between Muntplein and Koningsplein
The Bijbels Museum or Biblical Museum, housed in 2 buildings of the Cromhouthuizen on the Herengracht, displays Bible-related artifacts from the Judeo-Christian tradition
The KattenKabinet or Cat Cabinet is a cat museum displaying feline art from times long before lolcats and Grumpy Cat took over the internet
Het Grachtenhuis or Canal House is the Museum of the Canals - a gateway to the world famous Amsterdam canal ring ending in the de IJ Bay